Organic Languedoc wine from the Gérard Bertrand estates

Discovering an organic wine that respects the environment

Reconciling the production of excellent organic wines with respect for nature is a strong commitment on the part of Gérard Bertrand.

This valiant man and true ambassador of environmental protection is today the world leader in organic wines.

Over the years, Gérard Bertrand has taken over 14 estates spread throughout Languedoc-Roussillon and supported them in their transition to a cleaner production method. Today, the bet is won: all the plots of vines are at least labeled AB, and the wines brilliantly express the terroir from which they come.

vin bio languedoc

What is an organic wine?

An organic wine is a wine made according to the principles of organic farming, i.e. farming without herbicides, GMOs and other chemical fertilizers.

For the winemaker, this means applying these principles to the entire wine-making process, from growing the vines (viticulture) to transforming the grapes into wine (vinification).

An organic wine is made from grapes themselves certified organic, as well as all the additions (inputs) necessary for the proper transformation of the grapes into wine (yeasts, fining product, etc.).

A certified organic wine is thus produced from quality vines, according to practices that respect the environment.

Obtaining the Bio “AB” label requires compliance with strict specifications established by the European Union (Regulation No. 203/2012).

Recently, the CAB (Conversion en Agriculture Biologique) label appeared and makes it possible to identify winegrowers in the Occitanie region who have undertaken the process of transforming their vines into organic farming.

To ensure the proper conduct of organic producers, independent organizations approved by the INAO (National Institute of Origin and Quality) are responsible for certifying and monitoring compliance with the specifications of the Label . Among these independent bodies, let us quote for example, for organic wines from Languedoc: Ecocert, Certisud, Qualisud, Alpes Contrôles, etc.

However, to obtain a quality wine, producing a vine without chemical products is not everything. Without human know-how, grape juice would inevitably turn into vinegar.

It is thus up to the winegrower, and the oenologist, to play a predominant role in the conception of an organic wine.

Discover the entire range and collection of organic wines from Gérard Bertrand.

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

What are the benefits of organic wine?

avantages vin bio

As we have just seen, producing an organic wine means being more ecological, more attentive to nature, which is why Gérard Bertrand now owns more than 950 hectares of vines labeled AB or in progress. conversion.

But what are the advantages of a wine from organic farming? And what are the differences with a traditional wine?

The main advantage of a quality organic wine, like a biodynamic wine, is that it expresses the full potential of the fruit. The grape, being respected during its development, delivers all its flavors.

A plot of vine certified AB is a guarantee of being in the presence of a vine that has received a homogeneous and balanced management, with the patience of a culture that goes in the direction of the plant , and not in the sense of productivity at all costs. With an organic wine, the development of the grape itself is as important as the work done by the man in the cellar. But let's get to the most important point, the taste!

It is generally found that organic wines, when they are of high quality, such as Languedoc Gérard Bertrand wines, deliver finer and more delicate flavors than a traditional wine. The balance of flavors is thus remarkable, with very present floral notes. One of the reasons for this balance is that it is a wine that is built less on alcohol than for a traditional wine.

Another taste characteristic typical of organic Languedoc wines is their exceptional minerality. This is particularly noticeable for the wines produced in the Gérard Bertrand estates, such as at Château de l'Hospitalet, an exceptional property located in the heart of the Massif de la Clape, a limestone terroir par excellence.

The explanation for this is that untreated grapes are much more concentrated in trace elements and minerals. This is what allows, when tasting wine, to find this mineral, fresh, almost saline flavor, especially for white wines.An organic wine, as we have seen, is a wine made by being closer to the essentials, to its fruit and its terroir. These flavors are subtle, balanced and reveal its history.

If we had to summarize, we could say that an organic wine does not lie, it simply expresses what it is.

And biodynamics?

We are convinced that biodynamic agriculture in harmony with nature is the best way to produce wines of excellence from our terroirs in the South of France. This is why we have started the conversion of our estates to biodynamic agriculture on the Domaine de Cigalus in 2002 and that by 2023 all the vineyards will be certified DEMETER.

Find out more about biodynamic wine in Languedoc.

.

Vin bio du Languedoc des domaines Gérard Bertrand

À la découverte d’un vin bio respectueux de l'environnement

Concilier production de vins bio d’excellence et respect de la nature est un engagement fort de la part de Gérard Bertrand.

Cet homme de valeur et véritable ambassadeur de la protection de l’environnement est aujourd’hui le leader mondial des vins biologiques.

Au fil des années, Gérard Bertrand a repris 14 domaines répartis sur l’ensemble du Languedoc-Roussillon et les a accompagnés dans leur transition vers un mode de production plus propre. Aujourd’hui, le pari est gagné : la totalité des parcelles de vignes sont à minima labellisées AB, et les vins expriment avec brio le terroir dont ils sont issus.

vin bio languedoc

Qu'est-ce qu’un vin biologique ?

Un vin bio est un vin conçu selon les principes de l’agriculture biologique, soit une agriculture sans herbicides, sans OGM et autres engrais chimiques.

Cela implique pour le vigneron d’appliquer ces principes à l’ensemble du processus de fabrication du vin, de la culture de la vigne (viticulture) à la transformation du raisin en vin (vinification).

Un vin biologique est issu de raisins eux-mêmes certifiés biologiques, ainsi que tous les ajouts (les intrants) nécessaires à la bonne transformation du raisin en vin (levures, produit de collage, etc.).

Un vin certifié Bio est ainsi produit à partir de vignes de qualité, selon des pratiques respectueuses de l'environnement.

Obtenir le label Bio “AB” nécessite de respecter un cahier des charges stricte établi par l'Union Européenne (Règlement n° 203/2012).

Depuis peu, le label CAB (Conversion en Agriculture Biologique) est apparu et permet d’identifier les viticulteurs de la région Occitanie ayant entrepris la démarche de transformer leurs vignes en culture biologique.

Pour s’assurer de la bonne conduite des producteurs Bio, des organismes indépendants agréés par l’INAO (Institut national de l’origine et de la qualité) sont chargés de certifier et de contrôler le respect du cahier des charges du Label. Parmi ces organismes indépendants, citons par exemple, pour les vins bio du Languedoc : Ecocert, Certisud, Qualisud, Alpes Contrôles, etc.

Cependant, pour obtenir un vin de qualité, produire une vigne sans produits chimiques ne fait pas tout. Sans le savoir-faire de l’homme, le jus de raisin se transformerait inévitablement en vinaigre.

C’est ainsi au vigneron, et à l'œnologue, de jouer un rôle prédominant dans la conception d'un vin biologique.

 

Découvrir toute la gamme et la collection des vins biologiques de Gérard Bertrand.

Quels sont les avantages d’un vin bio ?

avantages vin bio

Comme nous venons de le voir, produire un vin bio c’est être plus écologique, plus à l’écoute de la nature, raison pour laquelle Gérard Bertrand possède aujourd’hui plus de 950 hectares de vignes labellisées AB ou en cours de conversion.

Mais quels sont les avantages d’un vin issu de l’agriculture biologique ? Et quelles sont les différences avec un vin traditionnel ?

Le principal avantage d'un vin biologique de qualité, tout comme un vin Biodynamique, est qu’il exprime tout le potentiel du fruit. Le raisin, en étant respecté durant son développement, délivre toutes ses saveurs.

 

Une parcelle de vigne certifiée AB est une garantie d’être en présence d’une vigne ayant reçu une conduite homogène et équilibrée, avec la patience d’une culture qui va dans le sens de la plante, et non dans le sens de la productivité à tout prix. Avec un vin bio, le développement du raisin lui-même est aussi important que le travail effectué par l’homme dans la cave. Mais venons-en au point le plus important, celui du goût !

Il est généralement constaté que les vins bio, quand ils sont de qualités, comme pour les vins du Languedoc Gérard Bertrand, délivrent des saveurs plus fines et plus délicates qu’un vin traditionnel. L’équilibre des saveurs est ainsi remarquable, avec des notes florales très présentes. Une des raisons de cet équilibre est qu’il s’agit d’un vin qui se construit moins sur l’alcool que pour un vin traditionnel.

 

Une autre caractéristique gustative typique des vins bio du Languedoc est leur exceptionnelle minéralité. C’est notamment ce que l’on remarque pour les vins produits dans les domaines Gérard Bertrand, comme au Château de l’Hospitalet, une propriété exceptionnelle située au cœur du massif de la Clape, un terroir calcaire par excellence.

 

L'explication à cela est qu’un raisin non traité se concentre nettement plus en oligo-éléments et en minéraux. C’est ce qui permet, lors de la dégustation du vin, de retrouver cette saveur minérale, fraîche, presque saline, notamment pour les vins blancs. Un vin biologique, nous l’avons vu, est un vin élaboré en étant plus proche de l’essentiel, de son fruit et de son terroir. Ces saveurs sont subtiles, équilibrées et révèlent son histoire.

 

Si nous devions résumer, nous pourrions dire qu’un vin bio ne ment pas, il exprime tout simplement ce qu’il est.

Et la biodynamie ?

Nous sommes convaincus que l’agriculture biodynamique en harmonie avec la nature est le meilleur chemin pour produire des vins d'excellence de nos terroirs du Sud de la France. C'est pour cela que nous avons débuté la conversion de nos domaines vers l’agriculture biodynamique sur le Domaine de Cigalus en 2002 et que d'ici 2023 l'ensemble des vignobles seront certifiés DEMETER.

 

En savoir plus sur le vin en biodynamie.

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Découvrez d’autres types de vin :

 

Et pour en savoir plus sur :