The know-how of Gérard Bertrand, winemaker from Languedoc and Roussillon, owner of 16 Châteaux, wine estates and Grand vin.

Story of a family passion for wine

Gérard Bertrand wines are above all a family affair.


Three generations of winegrowers, from Paule to Georges, then Gérard Bertrand.

In 1975, Georges Bertrand introduced his son Gérard, then ten years old, to grape harvesting on the Château de Villemajou in Corbières. Georges Bertrand played a precursory role in the revelation of the terroirs of Languedoc, he opened the way to the recognition of the Boutenac cru.

Gérard Bertrand has been sharing his passion for wine and his convictions as well as his father's pioneering spirit for more than 30 years.

A fourth generation is in the making. Gérard Bertrand's rare talent as an assembler is shared with his team. A unique know-how, transmitted and cultivated with his wife Ingrid, and his two children, Emma and Mathias. 

 

Learn more about the history of a family passion for the vine.

Biodynamics

The practice of biodynamics


Gérard Bertrand and his teams are convinced that a viticulture in harmony with nature is the best way to bring terroir wines to the highest level of excellence. This winegrowing method allows us to produce wines that are representative of all the nuances of the terroirs of the South of France.

Biodynamic agriculture is similar to vine homeopathy. It consists of the use of compost and herbal teas from biodynamic plants. Biodynamics takes into consideration all the natural elements that surround the vine and is based on cosmic rhythms.

The conversion of the estates to biodynamic agriculture was initiated in 2002 on the Domaine de Cigalus. Today, all the vineyards are cultivated in biodynamic farming following the strict rules of the DEMETER label. By 2023, all of its vineyards will have completed their conversion to certification, to the benefit of nature, wine-growing teams and wine consumers.

 

Learn more about biodynamic wine.

The values of the Gérard Bertrand Group

Excellence, Innovation, Naturalness and Conviviality


Gérard Bertrand has created, on each of his estates, exceptional wines from unique plots of land, chosen from among the most beautiful terroirs of the Languedoc. These plots, selected for their exceptional ampelographic and climatic situation, are positioned as great growths of the South of France, the quintessence of the Languedoc terroir.

Innovation is a key word for the Gérard Bertrand Group. It is essential to listen to consumers in order to meet their needs and each of their moments of consumption. Gérard Bertrand wines offer new experiences and moments to sublimate the collective adventures of wine lovers. Innovation is also achieved through innovative packaging, such as Cote des Rosesamong other things, it combines high-level design creativity with content excellence.

Occitania is the largest organic vineyard in France, representing alone 36% of the French organic vineyard and 7% of the world organic vineyard. It gathers all the assets favourable to organic viticulture. The geographical exposure, the Mediterranean climate (hot and windy) and the wide variety of resistant grape varieties make it easy to fight against parasites in the vines. As a pioneer of biodynamics in his vineyards, Gérard Bertrand wishes to support winegrowers who are committed to preserving the environment and to inspire the drive towards organic farming.

The will of Gérard Bertrand and his teams is to celebrate the Art De Vivre and to make the link between the great wines of the estates, gastronomy, art and lovers of beautiful encounters. Château l'Hospitalet is an hotel located in the heart of the protected massif of la Clape, and perfectly reflects the Mediterranean Art de Vivre. Being a biodynamic winery, Château l'Hospitalet is also a mecca for wine tourism in the South of France.

 

Learn more about the values of the Gérard Bertrand group, biodynamic winegrower.

Le savoir faire de Gérard Bertrand, vigneron du Languedoc et du Roussillon, propriétaire de 15 Châteaux et domaines de vin et de Grand vin.

Histoire d'une passion familiale pour la vigne

Les vins Gérard Bertrand, c’est avant tout une histoire de famille.


Trois générations de viticulteurs, de Paule à Georges, puis Gérard Bertrand.

En 1975, Georges Bertrand initie son fils Gérard, alors âgé de dix ans, aux vendanges sur le Château de Villemajou, en Corbières. Georges Bertrand a occupé un rôle précurseur dans la révélation des terroirs du Languedoc, il a ouvré à la reconnaissance du cru Boutenac.

Gérard Bertrand partage depuis plus de 30 ans sa passion viticole et ses convictions ainsi que l’esprit pionnier de son père.

Une quatrième génération se prépare. Le talent rare d’assembleur de Gérard Bertrand est partagé avec son équipe. Un savoir-faire unique, transmis et cultivé avec sa femme Ingrid, et ses deux enfants, Emma et Mathias. 

 

En savoir plus sur l'histoire d'une passion familiale pour la vigne.

La biodynamie

La pratique de la biodynamie


Gérard Bertrand et ses équipes sont convaincus qu’une viticulture en harmonie de la nature est la meilleure voie pour porter les vins de terroir au plus haut niveau d’excellence. Cette méthode culturale permet de produire des vins représentatifs de toutes les nuances des terroirs du Sud de la France.

L’agriculture biodynamique s’apparente à l’homéopathie de la vigne. Elle consiste en l’emploi de compost et de tisanes de plantes biodynamisées. La biodynamie prend en considération tous les éléments naturels qui entourent la vigne et s’appuie sur les rythmes cosmiques.

La conversion des domaines vers l’agriculture biodynamique a été amorcée en 2002 sur le Domaine de Cigalus. Aujourd’hui, tous les vignobles sont cultivés en biodynamie sous le respect du cahier des charges DEMETER. D’ici 2023, l’ensemble de ses vignobles auront accompli leur conversion vers la certification, au bénéfice de la nature, des équipes viticoles et des consommateurs de vins.

 

En savoir plus sur le vin biodynamie.

Les valeurs du groupe Gérard Bertrand

Excellence, Innovation, Naturalité et Convivialité


Gérard Bertrand a créé, sur chacun de ses domaines, des vins d’exception issus de parcelles uniques, choisies parmi les plus beaux terroirs du Languedoc. Ces parcelles, sélectionnées pour leur situation ampélographique et climatique exceptionnelles, se positionnent comme des grands crus du Sud de la France, la quintessence du terroir Languedocien.

L’innovation est un maître mot pour le groupe Gérard Bertrand. Il est essentiel d’être à l’écoute des consommateurs pour répondre à leurs besoins et à chacun de leurs moments de consommation. Les vins Gérard Bertrand proposent de nouvelles expériences et instants pour sublimer les aventures collectives des amateurs. L’innovation passe aussi par des packagings innovants, comme la gamme Cote des Roses, entre autres, qui allie la créativité du design de haut niveau & l’excellence du contenu.

L’Occitanie est le plus grand vignoble bio de France, représentant à lui seul 36% du vignoble bio français et 7% du vignoble bio mondial. Il réunit tous les atouts favorables à la viticulture bio. L’exposition géographique, le climat méditerranéen (chaud et venté) et la vaste variété de cépages résistants permettent de lutter facilement contre les présences parasitaires dans les vignes. Pionnier de la biodynamie dans ses vignobles, Gérard Bertrand souhaite soutenir les vignerons qui s’engagent pour la préservation de l’environnement et inspirer l’élan vers une agriculture biologique.

La volonté de Gérard Bertrand et ses équipes est de célébrer l’Art De Vivre et de faire le lien entre les grands vins des domaines, la gastronomie, l’art et les amoureux des belles rencontres. Le château l’Hospitalet, situé en plein coeur du massif protégé de la Clape, reflète parfaitement l’Art de Vivre méditerranéen. Domaine viticole cultivé en biodynamie, le Château l’Hospitalet est aussi un haut lieu de l’Oenotourisme en Méditerranée.

 

En savoir plus sur les valeurs du groupe Gérard Bertrand, vigneron en biodynamie.