Demeter biodynamic wine from Gérard Bertrand's estates

Biodynamic cultivation certified by Demeter for a wine closer to nature

If organic farming and its "AB" label are known to everyone today, biodynamic wine and its "Demeter" label are much less known. And yet, biodynamics is a method of cultivation that pushes the concept of "all natural" even further than organic.

 

This mode of cultivation seeks symbiosis with nature. Man aims to strengthen organic life and exchanges between the soil and the cultivated plant, with the primary consequence of no longer needing to use chemical products to protect (pesticides) or feed (fertilizers) it.

 

With biodynamics, the winegrower takes care of the vine, fortifies it, and harvests the fruits, without exhausting it.

 

For Gérard Bertrand, a fervent defender of the environment, biodynamics is a true philosophy of life. It was in 2002, at the Domaine de Cigalus, that he converted his first vineyard to Biodynamics. Convinced of the benefits of this method of cultivation close to nature, he now applies the principles of biodynamics to all the vines of his estates in Languedoc-Roussillon, which today represent 950 hectares spread over the entire Occitan region.

What is a biodynamic wine?

A biodynamic wine is a wine made according to the principles of biodynamic agriculture.

 

Biodynamics, or biodynamic agriculture, is a method of cultivation aimed at regenerating and strengthening the soil and plants, using natural preparations such as horn dung or organic compost. Biodynamics also takes into account the influence of the planets, especially the lunar calendar.

 

Founded in 1924 by Rudolf Steiner, biodynamics has as its main mission to rebalance the cultivated plant.

 

In a biodynamic cultivation method, all chemical and synthetic products are strictly forbidden. Only organic fertilizers are used.

 

Moreover, unlike traditional and organic wines, a biodynamic wine receives very little oenological input during the winemaking phase.

 

Discover the whole range and collection of biodynamic wines of Gerard Bertrand.

Biodynamic wines, ambassadors of terroir wines

Gérard Bertrand, as an unconditional lover of the terroirs of the South of France, and in particular those of Languedoc-Roussillon, creates in each of his estates, high quality biodynamic wines with a strong identity. This is particularly the case at the Domaine de l'Hospitalet, producing Château l'Hospitalet La Clape Grand Vin Red, elected best red wine in the world by IWC in 2019.  

 

Indeed, because of the way it is cultivated in the direction of the plant, and not in the direction of productivity, biodynamics allows the grape to draw its resources directly from the terroir and the different layers of the soil.

 

The grapes are no longer infused with chemical fertilizers that allow them to grow artificially. Thanks to the rich organic life of the soil, the vine feeds on the living humus of its terroir.

 

With its benefits, the grape develops optimally, it concentrates sugar, trace elements and vitamins. The wine made from these grapes then expresses perfectly where it comes from, its terroir, its history.

 

The cultivation of the vine in biodynamic agriculture thus makes it possible to produce powerful and deep wines that are fruitier and more balanced than traditional wines.

 

A vine cultivated in Biodynamics allows the wine to express the full potential of its terroir, its qualities and its own characteristics.

The Demeter label

Today, while many winegrowers pride themselves on the biodynamic cultivation of their vines, only by obtaining the Demeter label can they certify compliance with a strict and totally transparent set of specifications.

 

Present in 53 countries, the Demeter label takes up the specifications of the Organic label by adding stricter measures, particularly at the level of inputs, in order to respect the principles of biodynamics.

 

Of course, in biodynamics, chemical pesticides and fertilizers are strictly forbidden.

 

With an even more ecological vision, Demeter biodynamic wines respect de facto the specifications of organic agriculture. They therefore also have the organic "AB" label.

 

However, if today the organic label makes it possible to assure the consumer to be in the presence of a wine that has not used chemical products (fertilizers, pesticides), many so-called "industrial" practices are still authorized during the conception of an organic wine and do not allow the wine to express its full potential.

 

Biodynamic agriculture, through the Demeter label, thus represents a higher level of requirement in terms of respect for a more natural and more artisanal manufacturing process.

 

This is particularly the case for Clos d'Ora (organic red wine and demeter), and Clos du Temple(organic rosé wine and demeter), two biodynamically cultivated estates producing an exceptional wine and using animal traction (a mule) to work the soil.

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

The qualities of a biodynamic wine

qualities of a biodynamic wine

Produced from vines cultivated using natural methods, without synthetic products, biodynamic wines offer a rich and delicate range of flavours.

 

When a traditional wine has only two or three predominant aromas, a biodynamic wine is much more complex and expresses a multitude of flavours and aromas.

 

The wine is delicate on the nose, silky on the palate, with the emphasis on fruit.

 

More mineral and more balanced, biodynamic wine represents the culmination of the work of the vine cultivated with love and patience.

 

With a Demeter biodynamic wine, digestibility is also significantly improved, thanks in particular to its very low sulphite content. The sulphite content of a biodynamic wine is at least 30% lower than that of an organic wine.

 

People with digestive difficulties will thus find wine more easily assimilated by the body.

Find out more about the different types of wine:

 

Organic wine

Organic rosé wine

Orange wine

 

And to go further:

 

Gerard Bertrand, story of a family passion for the vine

The Castles and Estates of Gérard Bertrand

The webshop Gérard Bertrand wines

Vin biodynamique demeter des domaines Gérard Bertrand

La culture biodynamique certifiée Demeter pour un vin de terroir plus proche de la nature

Si la culture biologique et son label “AB” sont aujourd’hui connus de tous, le vin biodynamique et son label “Demeter”, le sont beaucoup moins. Et pourtant, la biodynamie est une méthode de culture poussant le concept du “tout naturel” encore plus loin que le bio.

 

Ce mode de culture recherche la symbiose avec la nature. L’Homme vise le renforcement de la vie organique et des échanges entre le sol et la plante cultivée, avec comme conséquence première de ne plus avoir besoin d’utiliser de produits chimiques pour la protéger (pesticides) ou la nourrir (engrais).

 

Avec la biodynamie, le vigneron soigne la vigne, la fortifie, et en récolte les fruits, sans l’épuiser.

 

Pour Gérard Bertrand, fervent défenseur de l'environnement, la biodynamie est une véritable philosophie de vie. C’est en 2002, dans le Domaine de Cigalus, qu’il convertit son premier vignoble en Biodynamie. Convaincu du bienfait de ce mode de culture proche de la nature, il applique aujourd’hui les principes de la biodynamie pour l'ensemble des vignes de ses domaines du Languedoc-Roussillon, ce qui représente aujourd’hui 950 hectares répartis sur l’ensemble de la région Occitanie.

Qu’est-ce qu’un vin biodynamique ?

Un vin biodynamique est un vin conçu selon les principes de l’agriculture biodynamique.

 

La Biodynamie, ou agriculture biodynamique, est un mode de culture visant à régénérer et à fortifier le sol et les plantes, par l’utilisation de préparations naturelles comme de la bouse de corne ou du compost organique. La biodynamie prend aussi en compte l'influence des planètes, et notamment du calendrier lunaire.

 

Fondée en 1924 par Rudolf Steiner, la biodynamie a pour mission principale de rééquilibrer la plante cultivée.

 

Dans un mode de culture biodynamique, tous les produits chimiques et de synthèses sont formellement interdits. Seuls les fertilisants organiques sont utilisés.

 

De plus, contrairement aux vins traditionnels et aux vins bio, un vin biodynamique ne reçoit que très peu d’intrants oenologiques durant la phase de vinification.

 

Découvrir toute la gamme et la collection de vins biodynamiques de Gérard Bertrand.

Les vins biodynamiques, ambassadeurs des vins de terroir

Gérard Bertrand, en tant qu’amoureux inconditionnel des terroirs du sud de la France, et notamment ceux du Languedoc-Roussillon, conçoit dans chacun de ses domaines, des vins en biodynamie de grande qualité, avec une identité forte. C’est le cas notamment au sein du Domaine de l’Hospitalet, produisant Château l’Hospitalet La Clape Grand Vin Rouge, vin élu meilleur vin rouge du monde par IWC en 2019.  

 

En effet, de par son mode de culture allant dans le sens la plante, et non dans le sens de la productivité, la biodynamie permet au raisin de puiser ses ressources directement dans le terroir et les différentes couches du sol.

 

Le raisin n’est ainsi plus sous perfusion d’engrais chimiques permettant de le développer de manière artificielle. Grâce à une vie organique riche du sol, la vigne se nourrit dans l’humus vivant de son terroir.

 

Avec ses bienfaits, le raisin se développe de manière optimale, il se concentre en sucre, en oligo-éléments et en vitamines. Le vin issu de ce raisin exprime alors parfaitement d’où il vient, son terroir, son histoire.

 

La culture de la vigne en agriculture biodynamique permet ainsi de produire des vins puissants et profonds, plus fruités, plus équilibrés que des vins traditionnels.

 

Une vigne cultivée en Biodynamie permet au vin d’exprimer tout le potentiel de son terroir, ses qualités et ses caractéristiques qui lui sont propres.

Le label Demeter

Aujourd’hui, si de nombreux viticulteurs se targuent de pratiquer une culture biodynamique de leurs vignes, seule l'obtention du label Demeter permet de certifier du respect d’un cahier des charges strict et totalement transparent.

 

Présent dans 53 pays, le label Demeter reprend le cahier des charges du label Biologique en ajoutant des mesures plus sévères, notamment au niveau des intrants, afin de respecter les principes de la biodynamie.

 

Bien entendu, en biodynamie, les pesticides et engrais chimiques sont formellement proscrits.

 

Avec une vision encore plus écologique, les vins biodynamiques Demeter respectent de facto le cahier des charges de l’agriculture biologique. Ils possèdent donc également le label bio “AB”.

 

Toutefois, si aujourd’hui le label Bio permet d’assurer au consommateur d’être en présence d’un vin n’ayant pas eu recours aux produits chimiques (engrais, pesticides), de nombreuses pratiques dites “industrielles” sont encore autorisées lors de la conception d’un vin bio   et ne permettent pas au vin d’exprimer tout son potentiel.

 

L'agriculture biodynamique, par l’intermédiaire du label Demeter, représente ainsi un niveau d’exigence supérieur en matière de respect d’un procédé de fabrication plus naturel et plus artisanal.

 

C’est notamment le cas pour Clos d’Ora (vin rouge bio et demeter), et Clos du Temple (vin rosé bio et demeter), deux domaines cultivés en biodynamie produisant un vin exceptionnel et utilisant la traction animale (une mule) pour travailler le sol.

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Sold out

Les qualités d’un vin biodynamique

qualités d’un vin biodynamique

Issus de vignes cultivées selon des méthodes naturelles, sans produits de synthèse, les vins biodynamiques offrent une palette gustative riche et délicate.

 

Quand un vin traditionnel présente seulement deux ou trois arômes prédominants, un vin biodynamique est quant à lui beaucoup plus complexe, et exprime une multitude de saveurs et d'arômes.

 

Le vin est délicat au nez, soyeux en bouche, avec une place prépondérante laissée au fruit.

 

Plus minéral et plus équilibré, le vin en biodynamie représente l’aboutissement du travail de la vigne cultivée avec amour et patience.

 

Avec un vin biodynamique Demeter, la digestibilité est également nettement améliorée, grâce notamment à sa très faible teneur en sulfites. La teneur en sulfite d'un vin en biodynamie est en effet inférieure de minimum 30% à celle d’un vin bio.

 

Les personnes ayant des difficultés de digestion trouveront ainsi un vin plus facilement assimilable par l’organisme.

Découvrez d’autres explications sur les différents types de vin :

 

Vin biologique

Vin bio rosé

Vin orange

 

Et pour aller plus loin :

 

Gérard Bertrand, histoire d’une passion familiale pour la vigne

Les Châteaux et Domaines de Gérard Bertrand

La boutique en ligne des vins Gérard Bertrand