The birth of a passion for wine and biodynamics


It was in 1975, in the vines of the Château de Villemajouat the heart of the Corbièresthat Gérard Bertrand harvests its first grapes and discovers its passion for wine.

He will perfect his apprenticeship during twelve years at the side of his father Georges Bertrand.

Very attached to the values of performance and excellence learned on the rugby fields, Gérard Bertrand continues his quest: to reveal the best terroirs of his region and promote them throughout the world.

It is in this spirit that he took over the family torch at Domaine de Villemajou after the accidental death of his father in 1987. Five years later, he created the Gérard Bertrand wine company in order to develop a range of wines from the South of France.

In the following years, he will buy back the Domaine de Cigalus and the Castle Laville Bertrou.

The new nuggets and the enrichment of the diversity of wines Gérard Bertrand


The acquisition in 2002 of Château l'Hospitaletin the natural park of La ClapeThe location between Narbonne, the Roman city of Narbonne, and the Mediterranean Sea gave Gérard Bertrand a new dimension.

Since then, the beautiful story continues and new nuggets with the emblematic terroirs of Languedoc come to enrich the vision and the diversity of Gérard Bertrand wines: Domaine de l'Aigle, Château la Sauvageonne , Château la Soujeole , Clos d'Ora , Clos du Temple, Karantes Castle Château Aigues-Vives, the winery Cap Insula, Château des 2 Rocs, Château de Tarailhan and Domaine de l'Estagnère.

La naissance d'une passion pour le vin et la biodynamie


C’est en 1975, dans les vignes du Château de Villemajou, au cœur des Corbières, que Gérard Bertrand fait ses premières vendanges et découvre sa passion pour le vin.

Il perfectionnera son apprentissage durant douze années aux côtés de son père Georges Bertrand.

Très attaché aux valeurs de la performance et de l’excellence apprises sur les terrains de rugby , Gérard Bertrand poursuit sa quête : révéler les meilleurs terroirs de sa région et les promouvoir dans le monde.

C’est dans cet esprit qu’il reprend le flambeau familial au Domaine de Villemajou après le décès accidentel de son père en 1987. Cinq ans après, il crée la société des vins Gérard Bertrand afin de développer une gamme de vins du Sud de la France.

Il rachètera les années suivantes le Domaine de Cigalus et le Château Laville Bertrou.

Les nouvelles pépites et l'enrichissement de la diversité des vins Gérard Bertrand


L’acquisition en 2002 du Château l’Hospitalet, dans le parc naturel de La Clape, entre Narbonne la romaine et la Méditerranée, permet à Gérard Bertrand d’acquérir une nouvelle dimension.

Depuis, la belle histoire continue et de nouvelles pépites aux terroirs emblématiques du Languedoc viennent enrichir la vision et la diversité des vins Gérard Bertrand : Domaine de l'Aigle, Château la Sauvageonne , Château la Soujeole , Clos d’Ora , Clos du Temple, Château les Karantes , Château Aigues-Vives , la winery Cap Insula, Château des 2 Rocs , Château de Tarailhan et Domaine de l’Estagnère.