Chateau l'Hospitalet

AOP La Clape

Chateau l'Hospitalet

The wines of the estate

Out of stock
Box Château l'Hospitalet 2019
The ultimate collection from an unrivaled estate
  173.00 €
hospitalitas 2014 balthazar 12L 1200cl
hospitalitas 2014 salmanazar 9L 900cl
L'Hospitalitas 2014 Large Formats
AOP La Clape
From 520.00 €

Château l'Hospitalet is nestled in the heart of the protected La Clape massif, a former link in the Pyrenees chain, a Phoenician and then Roman island, the cradle of the vine in France. From the 13th century, the Hospices de Narbonne settled on La Clape, linked to the mainland by the alluvial deposits of the Aude since the end of the Middle Ages.Documents from 1561 attest to its mission of welcoming and sharing with pilgrims.This vocation of hospitality inspired Gérard Bertrand who made L'Hospitalet the beating heart of his action around the Mediterranean art of living, since he acquired the property in 2002. The Château now has a hotel, a gourmet restaurant, a tasting and sales cellar, an Art Space and a rich offer of sensory tours around wine Music was missing: in 2004, the château hosted the first “Jazz à l’Hospitalet” festival, which today has become an international benchmark.

History

Overlooking the Mediterranean, in the heart of the protected massif of La Clape, this estate proudly wears the stuff of wines from the South. Its vocation was born in the 13th century. The estate then became the home of the Narbonne hospices. Gérard Bertrand, when it was acquired in 2002, chose to make it a Mecca for the Mediterranean art of living by combining culture, gastronomy and art in all its forms. With its 3-star hotel, restaurant, tasting cellar and numerous oenological activities, it revives the motto of the Hospitalet “sine vino, vana hospitalitas” (without wine, hospitality is futile). Throughout the year, this art of living sets the agenda for the estate. And especially in summer for the Jazz Festival.

Character & Nature

L’Hospitalet is the result of a nice game of chance. La Clape retains from its past as an island, in Roman times, a flora and fauna that make up its heritage: it is classified as a nature reserve. Nestled in the heart of 1000 hectares of preserved scrubland, the terroir of L'Hospitalet is protected from the vagaries of the weather by a cliff. Truffle, mulberry and olive trees form tasty ramparts bordering the vines. Their aromas carried by the wind, which breaks through them, permeate the wines of the estate. L'Hospitalet also enjoys one of the sunniest climates in France, balanced by the Mediterranean humidity. The soil plays on the duality between marl rich in mineral elements and dry and draining limestone. The latter, very white, reinforce the resonance of the sun on the vines. They give the wines a unique luminous balance, in addition to the freshness and salinity characteristic of limestone terroirs. Each vintage reinterprets the ingredients of this formidable terroir in its own way.

Winemaking

In red as in white, the wines of L'Hospitalet offer their unique luminous balance, sublimated by the culture in biodynamics since 2013. The Mediterranean expresses itself in majesty, with a view of La Clape and the rich fruit of the accents of the scrubland that hem its valley. The sea and the limestone unite in the structure on the tension, carried by a salivating freshness and a greedy salinity. The Grand Vin rouge is a blend of the best parcels of Syrah, Mourvèdre and Grenache noir. Each is vinified separately and blending takes place in February. The wine is then put in barrels for 12 months, then bottled on a fruit day of the lunar calendar, respecting the rhythms of biodynamics. The Grand Vin blanc is a blend of Bourboulenc, Grenache blanc and Viognier. Some of the wines are aged in barrels (70%) and the rest in vats to preserve their freshness.

Château l'Hospitalet, "Between Land and Sea"


n.m. (Latin hospitalitas, -atis), a place combining all the art of living and the essence of southern wines.

Château l'Hospitalet

AOP La Clape

Château l'Hospitalet

Les vins du domaine

hospitalitas 2014 balthazar 12L 1200cl
hospitalitas 2014 salmanazar 9L 900cl
L'Hospitalitas 2014 Grands Formats
AOP La Clape
A partir de 460.00 €
l'hospitalitas 2018 vin bio biodynamie vin la clape 95 robert parker 17 bettane et desseauve
l'hospitalitas 2018 vin bio biodynamie vin la clape 95 robert parker 17 bettane et desseauve
L'Hospitalitas 2018
AOP La Clape
  47.00 €

Le Château l’Hospitalet est niché au cœur du massif protégé de la Clape, ancien maillon de la chaîne des Pyrénées, île phénicienne puis romaine, berceau de la vigne en France. Dès le XIIIème siècle, les Hospices de Narbonne s’installent sur la Clape, rattachée au continent par les alluvions de l’Aude depuis la fin du Moyen Âge. Des documents de 1561 attestent de sa mission d’accueil et de partage à l’adresse des pèlerins. Cette vocation d’hospitalité a inspiré Gérard Bertrand qui a fait de l’Hospitalet le cœur battant de son action autour de l’art de vivre méditerranéen, depuis qu’il a acquis la propriété en 2002. Le Château compte aujourd’hui un hôtel, un restaurant gastronomique, un caveau de dégustation et de vente, un Espace d'Art et une offre riche de parcours sensoriels autour du vin. Il manquait la musique : en 2004, le château accueille le premier festival « Jazz à l’Hospitalet », devenu aujourd’hui une référence internationale.

Histoire

Surplombant la Méditerranée, au cœur du massif protégé de La Clape, ce domaine porte fièrement l’étoffe des vins du Sud. Sa vocation naît au XIIIème siècle. Le domaine se fait alors terre d’accueil des hospices de Narbonne. Gérard Bertrand, lors de son acquisition en 2002, choisit d’en faire un haut lieu de l’art de vivre méditerranéen en y alliant culture, gastronomie et l’art sous toutes ses formes. Avec son hôtel 3 étoiles, son restaurant, sa cave de dégustation et ses nombreuses activités œnologiques, il ravive la devise de l’Hospitalet « sine vino, vana hospitalitas »(sans vin, vaine est l’hospitalité). Tout au long de l’année, cet art de vivre cadence l’agenda du domaine. Et tout particulièrement en été pour le Festival de Jazz.

Caractère & Nature

L’Hospitalet est le fruit d’un joli jeu du hasard. La Clape conserve de son passé d'île, à l'époque romaine, une flore et une faune qui font son patrimoine : elle est classée réserve naturelle. Niché au cœur de 1000 hectares de garrigue préservée, le terroir de l'Hospitalet est protégé des caprices du temps par une falaise. Truffières, mûriers et oliviers forment de savoureux remparts en bordure de vignes. Leurs arômes portés par le vent, qui se fait brise en les traversant, imprègnent les vins du domaine. L’Hospitalet bénéficie aussi d’un climat les plus ensoleillés de France, équilibré par l'humidité méditerranéenne. Le sol joue de la dualité entre des marnes riches en éléments minéraux et des calcaires secs et drainants. Ces derniers, très blancs, renforcent la résonance du soleil sur les vignes. Ils confèrent aux vins un équilibre lumineux unique, en plus d'une fraîcheur et une salinité caractéristiques des terroirs de calcaires. Chaque millésime réinterprète à sa manière les ingrédients de ce formidable terroir.

Vinification

En rouge comme en blanc, les vins de l’Hospitalet offrent leur équilibre lumineux unique, sublimé par la culture en biodynamie depuis 2013. La Méditerranée s'exprime en majesté, avec vue sur la Clape et sur le fruit riche des accents de la garrigue qui ourlent sa combe. La mer et la pierre de calcaire s'unissent dans la structure sur la tension, portée par une fraîcheur salivante et une salinité gourmande. Le Grand Vin rouge est un assemblage des meilleures parcelles de Syrah, de Mourvèdre et de Grenache noir. Chacune est vinifiée séparément et l'assemblage est réalisé en février. Le vin est ensuite mis en barriques pendant 12 mois, puis mis en bouteille un jour fruit du calendrier lunaire, dans le respecte des rythmes de la biodynamie. Le Grand Vin blanc est un assemblage de Bourboulenc, Grenache blanc et de Viognier. Une partie des vins est élevée en barrique (70%) et le reste en cuve afin d'en préserver la fraîcheur.

Château l'Hospitalet, "Entre Terre et Mer"


n.m. (latin hospitalitas, -atis), lieu conjuguant tout l’art de vivre et l’essence des vins du Sud.